2021 Conference Committee

The Committee responsible for organising the Conference comprises representatives from the Queensland Resources Council, Resources Safety and Health Queensland, Simtars, the Construction Forestry Mining and Energy Union and the Australian Workers’ Union.


Darren Nicholls, Director of Glencore’s Underground Coal Operations in Australia


Larnie Mackay, Digital Transformation – Underground Project Lead, Anglo American, Moranbah North Mine

Committee Members

  • Nick Ahlstrand, Executive Director, Simtars
  • Shane Apps, Senior Manager, Safety and Training Systems and Reporting, Peabody Australia
  • Judy Bertram, Deputy Chief Executive and Director, Community and Safety Policy, Queensland Resources Council
  • André De Kock, Research Manager, Simtars
  • Hermann Fasching, Chief Inspector of Mines, Mineral Mines and Quarries, Resources Safety and Health, Department of Natural Resources, Minerals and Energy
  • Paul Goldsbrough, Policy Manager – Safety and Health, Queensland Resources Council
  • Jason Hill, Industry Safety and Health Representative, CFMEU – Mining and Energy Division, Qld District
  • Gavin Lawrence, Organiser, Northern District, Australian Workers’ Union
  • Anthony Logan, Senior Inspector of Mines, Mechanical, Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy
  • Derek Muirhead, Health Safety and Training Manager, OCE Mining, Downer
  • Angela Vanstone, Group Manager – Environment, Evolution Mining