Queensland Mining Industry Health and Safety

The Committee responsible for organising the Conference comprises representatives from the Queensland Resources Council, Resources Safety and Health Queensland, Simtars, the Mining & Energy Union Queensland and the Australian Workers’ Union.


Larnie Mackay. General Manager, MyneSight


Kylie Ah Wong, Director, Health, Safety & Training, Glencore Coal Assets Australia

Committee Members

Julie Ruttley, Senior Manager Safety, Peabody Australia

Josh Burke, Project Development Manager, Thiess

Melanie Dawson, Social, Indigenous and Safety Policy, Queensland Resources Council

André De Kock, Research Manager, Simtars

Hermann Fasching Chief Inspector of Mines – Minerals Mines and Quarries, Resources Council

Steve Firth, Inspector of Mines, Minerals, Mines & Quarries, Resources Safety and Health Queensland

Ian Hogg, Operational Risk & Assurance Manager, Anglo American

Paul Goldsbrough, Policy Manager – Safety and Health, Queensland Resources Council

Gavin Lawrence, Organiser, Northern District, Australian Workers’ Union

Belinda Martin, Manager HSE, BHP Mitsubishi Alliance

Kerri Melkersson, Executive Director, Simtars